Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 6
  Print  
Author Topic: Free GPS maps of Sri Lanka  (Read 109404 times)
nadika
Global Moderator
Full Member
***
Posts: 201


http://chaya.lk


View Profile WWW
« on: April 28, 2009, 07:41:17 PM »

Hi everyone

I just found this site which give free GPS maps for Garmin GPS units the home page is
http://mapcenter2.cgpsmapper.com/
and you can download the Sri lanka road map from
http://mapcenter2.cgpsmapper.com/maplist.php?country=208&region=219&category=2



*********Update - 18 July 2010 ***********

Since there had been problems with downloading the map files from the above location, we have add the relevant files to the lakdasun server. Please check the tread -  Free Complete GPS map of Sri Lanka and the world base map for Garmin for the download locations


Download the installer file (24.7MB) from this page and install it. After the installation the map will be loaded to Garmin MapSource.
And if you guys don’t have Garmin MapSource follow these steps to install MapSource to your computer.
Garmin officially provides a MapSource version update download, which will only work if there is previous version of MapSource installed. If no MapSource software is detected, the MapSource update setup will abort with error message saying that it cannot find previous version of MapSource.
Follow the following trick to hack the setup file so that it can be used to install MapSource clean and fresh without any prior installation of MapSource.
1.   Download MapSource software updater from Garmin web site.  (http://www8.garmin.com/support/download_details.jsp?id=209)
2.   Unpack or extract the content of MapSource.exe downloaded using WinRAR.
3.   From the extracted files, run MAIN.msi.
4.   Then, run Setup.exe.
                Note: The sequence to execute Main.msi and then Setup.exe is important to avoid “Previous MapSource not found!” error.
5.   Garmin MapSource now installed.

You have to install Garmin MapSource before installing the SL map

After installtion of mapsource and the map product, if you do not see the Sri Lanka map in Garmine Mapsource program check the following configuration.

Mapsource -> View -> Switch to Product -> Select Sr_Lanka_Routable.

This option is set to "No map" by default and even after intalling the Sri Lanka map, you will see a blank screen unless the map product is set in the above menu option




Have fun
Nadika
« Last Edit: September 04, 2010, 10:55:21 AM by lakdasun » Logged

++++++  Chaya Image library  ++++++      http://chaya.lk
Ranishka
Global Moderator
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 266


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2009, 07:59:17 PM »

I already have this. This is one of the greatest softwares I have ever used.

Ranishka
Logged
Kumara
Newbie
*
Posts: 4


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 16, 2009, 09:14:15 PM »

Thanks for this info.

I also installed the software successfully.

It must be stated that after installing mapsource as stated, do not run it prior to installation of the maps, or you will get the error message.
Logged
Chamila W
Newbie
*
Posts: 41



View Profile
« Reply #3 on: June 26, 2009, 08:53:42 AM »

Hi,
Dear Nadika,
Thanks for sharing the info, need one advice from you- what are the compatibility GPS models for this ? can I use this for basic Garamin GPSes as well?

Chamila
Logged
mithila
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1139


@ N: 06° 47.85’ | E: 079° 53.38’


View Profile WWW
« Reply #4 on: June 26, 2009, 08:55:17 AM »

any Garmin with map support will support this but the Vista series or better will be great for using maps.
Logged

Man did not weave the web of life. He is merely a strand in it. Whatever he does to the web of life, he does to himself. | Study nature, love nature, stay close to nature. It will never fail you!
ruslan
Newbie
*
Posts: 6


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: July 24, 2009, 08:56:20 PM »

Hi Guys i'm a noob to this forum. and this is my first post  Smiley i have installed the above mentioned maps to my Nokia E71 GPS capable phone (Using Garmin Mobile XT). but the City labels and street labels are not available! is it same with you guys??  Huh
« Last Edit: July 24, 2009, 09:09:23 PM by ruslan » Logged
nadika
Global Moderator
Full Member
***
Posts: 201


http://chaya.lk


View Profile WWW
« Reply #6 on: July 26, 2009, 07:56:58 AM »

hi Mithila and Chamila

the map upload capability is not there in some "Garamin basic GPS's". So you have to buy a GPS unit with map upload capability. this map works welll on both colour and grayscale display's. Well ...... I bought my GPS without knowing about this map, so I bought a model with the grayscale display, but now i regret about it Cry Cry if I am buying a GPS again i will buy a one with the colour display. Most of the Garmin "Mapping GPS units" https://buy.garmin.com/shop/shop.do?cID=145 will allow you to upload map. and this map has 12 parts. so you will need at least 30MB of memory to upload all the parts at once. and i have to give you another advice if you are buying a Garmin GPS unit.  Go for a one with a "high-sensitivity GPS receiver" it works very well even under thick canopy.

Nadika


 
Logged

++++++  Chaya Image library  ++++++      http://chaya.lk
nadika
Global Moderator
Full Member
***
Posts: 201


http://chaya.lk


View Profile WWW
« Reply #7 on: July 26, 2009, 08:07:19 AM »

Hi ruslan

Welcome to the forum.

Well first I have to tell you that I have not used this map on mobile phones. (that is because I dont have a phone that advance, the most advance phone I have used is the nokia 1100 Grin Grin Grin Grin) please see that if there is some setting in your phone to switch off map details, or to change the amount of details that the map displays.

Nadika

Logged

++++++  Chaya Image library  ++++++      http://chaya.lk
hfh1983
Newbie
*
Posts: 4


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: July 27, 2009, 11:08:07 AM »

hi Guys

Please can anyone let me know if i can buy a garmin device from SL and where is the place also can you let me know the price.

Thanks

Sri Lankan Rocks
Logged
mithila
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1139


@ N: 06° 47.85’ | E: 079° 53.38’


View Profile WWW
« Reply #9 on: July 27, 2009, 11:19:43 AM »

check this thread -  Where to buy a Hand held GPS In Sri Lanka?

It will be better if you can buy one before you come to SL.

mithila
Logged

Man did not weave the web of life. He is merely a strand in it. Whatever he does to the web of life, he does to himself. | Study nature, love nature, stay close to nature. It will never fail you!
zayeshk
Newbie
*
Posts: 7


View Profile
« Reply #10 on: December 04, 2009, 10:27:42 AM »

I managed to get them on a nokia 5800.using Garmin mobile XT.works fine..but doesn't display the text labels.. Huh
Logged
nadika
Global Moderator
Full Member
***
Posts: 201


http://chaya.lk


View Profile WWW
« Reply #11 on: December 04, 2009, 07:35:32 PM »

Hi zayeshk

Try to change the "Map detail level" or Use the map with “Garmin Que” instead of Garmin mobile XT. I have used Garmin Que and it works well.

Nadika
Logged

++++++  Chaya Image library  ++++++      http://chaya.lk
zayeshk
Newbie
*
Posts: 7


View Profile
« Reply #12 on: December 06, 2009, 11:12:03 AM »

Thanks for the info nadika..i tried changing the map detail..then only the capital letters showed up..its a problem with the mobile XT version.there is a text encoding issue..I'm re editing some of the maps through with the source....i'll post a reply if get it corrected..
Logged
Hiru
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 68


View Profile
« Reply #13 on: December 08, 2009, 03:49:11 AM »

Thanks a lot. This is really useful.
Logged
kasunrambuk
Newbie
*
Posts: 19


View Profile
« Reply #14 on: December 09, 2009, 08:39:14 AM »

Can any1 plz tell me which of these GPS is best for hiking in Sri Lanka.......

1.Garmin eTrex H Handheld GPS Navigator
2.Garmin eTrex Venture HC GPS Receiver

plz guys,,,It'll be a great help....
Logged
Lakdasun Forum - Online Home of Sri Lanka's Nature Lovers, Eco-Travelers and Conservationists
   

 Logged
Tags: GPS Map | GPS Phone | 
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 6
  Print  
 
Jump to: