Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Nikon D90 or D5000??? May be canon  (Read 3494 times)
Thilak

View Profile
« on: May 20, 2010, 07:41:20 AM »

I used to have a Kodak point and shoot camera and I am a completely newbie for SLR cameras. Now thinking for buying a Nikon D90 (price is very high though) or D5000 - just the standard kit.

The reason for selecting Nikon is that one of my friends got a D40 and according to my knowledge photos are very good.

The D90 is expensive Rs. 152,000 - SL phototechnika and D5000 is Rs.114,000 in phototechnika. both with 1 year warranty.

Which one you guys recommend? or some other model of Canon?

I could purchase D90 from UK for Rs. 116,000 and warranty will not be valid in sri lanka. Also D5000 from UK for Rs 72,000

to which option I could go for?

Is there any other place in Sri Lanka I could by D90 for lesser price?

Please help me on above as I want to make the purchase in 1 - 2 weeks time.

Thanks.

lakdasun
Administrator

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2010, 10:40:21 AM »

Unless you have already seen it, this thread - SLR vs Compact - will be useful for you to decide on the brand.

Treat the earth well. It was not given to you by your parents. It was loaned to you by your children
kosala
« Reply #2 on: May 20, 2010, 11:19:44 AM »

Hi Thilak,
I too bought a D90 some 6 months back. I was initially going to buy a Canon (40D/50D) but selected Nikon D90 over it mainly due to the poor service of Metropolitan, the local agents and secondly due to brand loyalty. I earlier ('bout 5yrs back) used Nikon FM10 and FM2 which I was extremely happy with.
I am still happy with my D90, but feel a bit out of the place only beause most of the guys are using Canons. As I am informed, the reputation of Canon camera mainly derives from the superb performance of Canon L series lenses which are very high in price in SL.